Kitchener Stitch

For me Kitchener Stitch is a dreaded word. I always seem to have trouble with it. I try so very hard to get it right but I always seem to get myself in a mess. When I am doing it I tell everyone around me not to talk to me so that I can keep my concentration on the task. And for me it’s a difficult task, I always seem to get lost with what I am doing. I have to talk to myself out loud continually telling myself what to do so that I don’t lose track and that’s the problem, I always lose track. Do you have trouble doing Kitchener Stitch?

I have since devised a way for me to do Kitchener Stitch, where it actually works. These days when I do Kitchener Stitch I knit in waste yarn for a few rows at the end and that has made it so much easier for me. Having knit with the waste yarn I then am able to follow the waste yarn and do my Kitchener Stitch to finish my sock.

_DSC0329

Socks with the knitted on waste yarn.

_DSC0330

In the process of doing Kitchener Stitch using the waste yarn as a guide.

I also have a tendency to knit both socks first and then do all the finishing at once. What are you like when it comes to finishing off your socks?

 

Hope everyone’s having a great week

Bye

Sharyn

Leave a Reply

