Ripple Yoga Sock

_DSC0371

I am super excited to be announcing my first ever design, Ripple Yoga Sock and it’s available on Etsy or from Ravelry. It’s suitable for the beginner as the pattern consists of knit and purl stitches and I have included links for all the techniques used in the pattern. It’s the first time I have ever knitted a yoga sock and I am very please with the way it turned out. It’s great for anyone interested in yoga or dance.

It was a great experience for me as I’ve never designed a pattern for sale before, I have done plenty for myself and family. I joined a Ravelry group for designers and testers and had my sock test knit by 4 wonderful knitters. It was a great experience as they picked up on things which I just took for granted, so getting their feedback was very helpful. Also I designed the pattern for my yarn but it was not a requirement for them to use that, this way people can see how it looks using other yarns. The only requirement was that they be able to get the gauge in their chosen yarn.

The other thing I found interesting was actually writing out the pattern, I am use to making abbreviated notes which of course I only understand but writing out a pattern makes you think as you want people to be able to understand what you are saying. Getting the pattern test knitted was good for this as I emailed the pattern to them and they worked off my pattern and in this was I was able to get feedback on how well they understood the pattern.

It was a great experience for me and I can’t wait to do it again. I am now working on a man’s sock which I hope to have ready for testing soon.

 

Happy knitting

Sharyn

Leave a Reply

